The Estonian tax system consists of national taxes and local taxes collected by local governments in their jurisdiction. National taxes include income tax, social tax, land tax, gambling tax, value-added tax, duty and excise taxes and heavy goods vehicle tax. Local governments have the authority to impose local taxes, but effectively only a few have introduced local taxes, in particular: boat tax, advertisement tax, tax for closing of streets, motor vehicle tax, tax on keeping domestic animals, amusement tax, and parking fees.

Estonia does not impose any gift, inheritance or estate taxes. Various transactions may be subject to payment of state fees (stamp duties).

Overview of Estonian taxes: